Life Lessons

Coming into university I had an idea of who I wanted to be and how I would achieve it. However, all those ideas, thoughts and opinions have completely changed. My life has been one heck of a roller coaster ride, anyone who knows me can attest to that. Looking back, to where I stand now is completely different than where I was a year ago or two years ago. It’s weird to think that so much has changed in such little time.  But looking back through all these changes, I can truly say that I am completely happy with where I stand now,  and as much as I hated those changes I am glad that they happened. I have learnt a lot about myself and what is truly important. The following are some of the main life lessons that I have learnt over the years.

  • Shit happens and it will completely tear your world upside down but you shouldn’t let that defeat you.

giphy   As Simba eloquently points out “Sometimes bad things happen, and there’s nothing you can do about it, so why worry?” .  No one can control the future. Things happen unexpectedly all the time which can completely throw you off your game. But you shouldn’t let that affect you. I mean obviously, you are going to be upset but what is the point of letting that affect your day to day life? What is the point of letting that affect your goals in life. You can’t change what has happened, you can only accept it and learn to live and grow from it. Don’t let your past interfere with your future. You still have a full life ahead of you so continue living and prospering. So with that, its important to continue trucking along at the hardest of times tumblr_mencsdYgBY1rnncffo1_500

  • Follow your heart even if no one else agrees with it, you have to learn from your own mistakes

tumblr_mmg2oo90bP1rd0rbzo1_500   I will finally admit that I am very stubborn. I cant count how many times my family or friends have given me advice which I neglected to take until I finally realized that I should have. I tend to follow my heart, which has lead me to make a few mistakes over the years, but those mistakes have helped me become the person that I am today.  I don’t regret any of the choices that I have made because of this. I stand behind all my decisions and I am grateful that I have learnt from everything. And with that Be yourself, don’t change for anyone. Be yourself, follow your heart and do the things that you think is best for you. giphy (1)

  • Do the things that you love, even if its small like drinking a chai tea. Being happy is important

Don't_worry_Be_happyI remember hearing a quote by John Lennon

“When I was 5 years old, my mother always told me that happiness was the key to life. When I went to school, they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up. I wrote down ‘happy’. They told me I didn’t understand the assignment, and I told them they didn’t understand life.”

I think it is extremely important to do the things that you love no matter what hey are; even if it’s small things like singing in the shower or just dancing awkwardly in your room. Happiness is the key to life. Without being happy what do you have really? What do you have to look forward to? I think that every decisions that I have made in my life, I have questioned if it would make me happy. I mentioned before I am one to follow my heart. I do things that make me happy because it makes life more fulfilling

  • Your family members can be hard asses at times but they always have your best interest at heart

sarah-hyland-birthday-november-24-2012-bartowskiarchives-2   There have been many moments in my life where my opinions have clashed with my parents. Looking back on those moments I understand why they made those decisions and wanted me to do things differently. I think it’s fair to say that I have grow to understand and value my parents opinions even if I may not agree with a few. Family will always be hard asses because they can. Everyone needs those few people to tell you how it is and I’m grateful that my family is able to do that. Even if it may take me awhile to accept it. I understand why they wanted those things for me and appreciate that those decisions have also helped me become the person that I am today.

  • Family comes in different shapes and forms.

tumblr_mhm4ncwdxH1rllfedo1_500Ever since I was little, I created many different families, field hockey family in high school, first year family, indevours family, doning family, blood related family. Family comes in different shapes and forms. I love that I have many unique families to support me through the different things in my life. I love that meeting all of these unique individuals has also added to the expansion of my horizons and perspectives on the world. I have learnt a lot about who I am and what I value through being a part of these different families.

But what I have truly learnt and will always take to heart is the importance of the people you surround yourself with. How their love, inspiration and admiration will continue to help you through anything. They will take your crap but will be there no matter what.

I expect that my list of life lessons will continue to grow as my journey continues and a series of different life events continue to unfold.

And with that I ask you, what life lessons have you taken to heart and learnt throughout the years?

5 thoughts on “Life Lessons

  1. I’m proud of you Anusha! Great post, I appreciate your honesty when you write these blogs. I’ve definitely learned about the value of friendship and being kind to one another! Thanks for making me sit back and think about that one.

  2. I think that in university we can get so caught up with grades and deadlines that we never take a moment to sit back and reflect on what we have learned.
    I love what you said about the people you surround yourself with.
    I never had a strong set of friends in high school and I would look at my sister, who had that core group and I would wonder why I didn’t have that?
    My mom told me something that I have taken to heart till this day and I think it is so true. High school is like a salad, it is a mix of lettuce and tomatoes and cucumbers. In university, all the tomatoes find each other and same with the cucumbers and the lettuce. I have found an amazing family at university that I would never trade for anything in the world.
    The closest people to you will call you out when you are wrong and will not take your excuses, they always have your best intentions at heart and will always believe in you.
    Its so great to see you have learned all of these things at University and I hope you continue to learn everyday

  3. Fight for what you want even when you don’t get the expected outcome. At least you know you tried, and put the effort into something you care about.

    Also, I find that the most of the experiences that shaped my undergrad career were outside of academics. Sure, getting amazing grades, and studying gave me satisfying results such as happiness and confidence, but it’s the time with people, and getting out there and engaging yourself in the community is what really shapes the person you are.

  4. Great job Anusha! It is so nice to see that your university experience has helped you learn things beyond what you learn from a textbook. I really value what you said at the end that family comes in different shapes and forms. It always baffles me that all the people I surround myself with are very different from each other but somehow there is still a deep bond. I see this in my Waterloo roommates, my brother back home and all the people I work with professionally. Also your are absolutely right that people always need to do what they love. You will never know where your passion will take you. Keep up the great blogging:)

Leave a Reply

